Melancholy

That about sums up how I’m feeling today. And it has pretty much nothing to do with Valentine’s Day. I’m on Reading Break, and had a great weekend away in Victoria, only to come home and find out my mom is now in the hospital with massive nose bleeds that they are having trouble controlling. They aren’t exactly sure what’s causing the problems, and she will be spending a second night there. It doesn’t sound like it’s super serious, but it’s still troubling.

IMG_1365

It didn’t help that it was a grey and rainy day today. The kind of day where it would be easy to stay in your pyjamas and hide under a blanket all day. I did get out though, and go for a walk in the park in the rain, enjoying the sounds of the rain in the trees. I may have even taken to skipping over increasingly bigger puddles, just to see how far I could jump. It was definitely good for the soul to get out and just be.

IMG_1369

Since my dad has been back and forth to the hospital all day, I ended up on my own for dinner. I wasn’t looking for anything complicated, just something filling and nourishing and simple to prepare. Fortunately, I have a standby meal that fits that bill.

IMG_1363

There’s no real recipe. I simply cook up a pot of whole wheat pasta (in this case, rotini), then steam whatever vegetables I have on hand. I went with carrot, broccoli, and cauliflower, throwing in a handful of frozen corn kernels at the last minute for an extra pop of colour.

IMG_1370

When both are cooked, toss them together with some butter, olive oil, lots of fresh cracked black pepper, garlic powder, and a bit of salt. The key here is the black pepper and garlic powder – don’t skimp.

IMG_1367

Then I just top the bowl with a sprinkle of cheese. Parmesan is preferred, but today I went with sheep’s milk feta. Whatever floats your boat.

IMG_1364

A cute penguin bowl makes it taste just a little bit better.

IMG_1366 

It might not be an amazing culinary creation, but sometimes that’s not what you’re looking for. Some things in life are more important.

Keep your fingers crossed that my mom gets well soon.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Dinner, Family, Vegetarian

Subscribe

Stay updated via RSS, Twitter, and Facebook!

9 Comments on “Melancholy”

  1. February 15, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Fingers are crossed. I hope everything turns out all well for you and your mom. What a crappy start to reading week…

  2. February 15, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    I will be crossing my fingers!

    I love that penguin bowl too!!

  3. February 15, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Hope to hear good news about your Mom ASAP, Marianne!

  4. February 15, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Yikes, sorry to hear about your mom! I wonder if they winter weather has anything to do with it, all this dryness can’t be good. I’ve heard about someone going through a similar situation where they couldn’t stop the nosebleeds and went to the hospital. I don’t think they were able to find anything wrong or do much for him but apparently he was fine so hopefully it’s nothing big. My fingers are definitely crossed for her!

  5. Roz
    February 15, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Hope they figure out what is causing the bleeds soon and your Mom is back home safe , sound and healthy!

  6. February 15, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Awwh Marianne, I’m so sorry to hear about momz! In my thoughts! ❤

  7. February 15, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    That pasta sound great. I forgot how tasty black pepper is on pasta!

    All the best to your mom! I remember hearing about plastic surgery complications leading to uncontrollable nose bleeds, but I don’t know if that’s even a possibility with your mom. Hope they get to the root of it soon!

  8. February 15, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I’ll be sure to keep your mom in my thoughts and prayers.
    I hope that cute penguin bowl made you smile at least a little bit:)

  9. February 16, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    My mom had the same thing 2 years ago. They never did put their finger on exactly what the cause was but they think that it was a combination of high blood pressure and dry winter air.
    I hope that she feels better soon.

Leave a comment