A Good Hair Day

I’ve been told by more than one person today that my hair looks good. Even my sister wanted to know what I did to it. That must be saying something!

IMG000020

A good hair day deserves a good recipe, don’t you think?

IMG_1380

You may recall one of my New Year’s goals was to consume beans on a more regular basis. In order to do that, I decided to start the school year off by cooking up a pot of black eyed peas so I could utilize them in some way. I also did up a pot of wheat berries, because it just seemed like a good combo- beans and grains. Fibre-licious!

IMG_1365

Of course, eating just beans and grains might be a little…boring. So I went ahead and jazzed them up for lunch one day. One of the stars of the show – Canadian sheep’s milk feta. My favourite feta, hands down.

IMG_1366

After a small amount of chopping, sautéing, and mixing, I had myself a delicious little lunch dish. I finished it off with a drizzle of this tahini dressing.

IMG_1375

Voila! A veggie, grain, bean, and nut filled delight for the taste buds. Guaranteed to keep your belly content too.

IMG_1387

Black-Eyed Pea & Wheat Berry Lunch Bowl

serves 4

IMG_1381

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 4 cups chopped mushrooms
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning, or your favourite seasoning blend (optional)
  • 2 cups cooked black-eyed peas (from dried is best, but canned work as well)
  • 2 cups cooked wheat berries
  • 1/3 cup golden raisins
  • 2/3 cup vegetable broth
  • 4 cups packed baby spinach
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup tahini dressing (I used this recipe)
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta

IMG_1363

1. Heat a large skillet over medium-low heat. Add butter and allow to just melt.

IMG_1367

2. Add mushrooms and sauté until they have just started to turn golden in colour.

IMG_1368

3. Season with Italian seasoning or other seasoning blend, if using.

IMG_1370

4. Add black-eyed peas and wheat berries to skillet. Stir to combine.

IMG_1371

5. Add in golden raisins and vegetable broth, and allow to simmer until most of the liquid is absorbed.

IMG_1372 IMG_1373

6. Add spinach, and cook until it is just wilted. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_1374

7. Divide mixture between 4 bowls, drizzle with tahini dressing, and top with chopped pecans and crumbled feta. Enjoy!

IMG_1379

Not only was this a hearty, filling dish for a cold day, but the combination of flavours and textures really worked. Sweet from the raisins, salty from the feta, crunch from the nuts, and the chew of the wheat berries made it a winner. Feel free to substitute whatever beans you have on hand, and mix up the vegetables if mushrooms and spinach aren’t your thing. It’s great warm from the pan, but travels well as a cold lunch the next day.

IMG_1382

Give it a go and let me know how you liked it!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Beans, Lunch, Recipe, Vegetarian, Whole Grain

Subscribe

Stay updated via RSS, Twitter, and Facebook!

12 Comments on “A Good Hair Day”

  1. January 10, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    But how DID you do your hair?! 🙂

  2. January 11, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    I’m seconding Mama Pea’s comment. Looks fabulous! 😀

  3. January 11, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Your hair does look great…as does your lunch bowl!!! 🙂

  4. January 11, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Your hair was awesome yesterday. And I loved your boots (where did you get them?). That looks delicious. Hmmmm beans and grains.

  5. January 11, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Great recipe! Perhaps I’ve finally found a use for that bag of black eyed peas that I bought for New Years…

  6. January 12, 2011 at 6:47 am #

    That meal looks INCREDIBLE. I’m a sucker for feta so any recipe with it gets my immediate thumbs up. I’ll be keeping my eye out for that feta, I’m not sufre if I’ve tried that one yet but I’m ALWAYS looking for a good one.

    And I can see why everyone thinks your hair looks good, the curls are so nice and bouncy! Is that natural? If so, I’m jealous. My hair is stick straight, it can hardly even hold a curling iron curl loaded with hairspray. Not nice.

    • February 9, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

      Yes, the curl is all natural. Sometimes a blessing, sometimes a curse! Always needs product though. LOL

  7. January 12, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Your hair DOES look amazing!
    So curly and cute 🙂
    Thanks for the recipe, btw – looks awesome!

  8. January 13, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Time to share your secrets! 🙂 It looks so full and beautiful! I love it 🙂
    That recipe sounds amazing. I am interested in the raisin + feta combination. HEAVEN

  9. January 13, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    I wish I liked black eyed peas and mushrooms – looks so good! Love the addition of pecans!

  10. January 14, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    one of my fav beans you have there, black eyed peas ❤
    it was a goal of mine to eat more beans this year too, so far so good. i always make sure to stock up on cans whenever theres a sale, that way i dont have an excuse. and thanks to ur amazing expertise in the subject of all things nutrition, u were the inspiration behind me adding cheese and more healthy fats into my diet. i definitely think its helping me absorb more vitamins and minerals from my salads and stir-fries, which has been beneficial for my nails that always crack and bend so easily!

    ps. u have such a gorgeous natural curl and wave to your hair!!

    • February 9, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

      I’m so behind on responding to comments…

      But thanks for your kind words! I don’t consider myself an expert in any way, but I’m glad my simple little suggestion is making a difference 🙂

Leave a comment