Baking Bread

I had another recipe assignment due for school this week (remember the first, where I baked these muffins?). This time I decided to bake some yeast bread from scratch.

IMG_1374 

Since I had already used a recipe from a cookbook for my last assignment, I decide to search out a recipe on a manufacturer’s website (we have approved recipe sources we can use, and we can’t use the same one more than once). I ended up on Bob’s Red Mill, which was where I found a recipe for Cheddar Walnut Spelt Bread.

IMG_1364

The title itself was enough to draw me in, but when I saw the recipe called for dried cherries in addition to the cheddar and walnut, I was intrigued.

IMG_1365 

I must say, my first thought was “really?”. I wasn’t sure how I felt about the flavour combo. In my head, I was expecting a fully savoury bread. So the cherries kinda threw me.

IMG_1367 

My brain got to thinking – “I bet herbs would be great in there instead of cherries”. So I went with it.

IMG_1366

Before I knew it, my assignment had pretty much written itself. I would make one loaf per the original instructions (with cherries), and one loaf as the experimental herbed bread. It was perfect really, because it cut down on the costs (dried cherries are freakin’ expensive), and we have to write a section on what we would or wouldn’t change in the recipe, so I could truly say how my suggested changes would or wouldn’t work.

IMG_1370

The recipe is super easy to put together, because you simply throw all the base ingredients in your stand mixer and let it go with the dough hook until the gluten develops and pulls away from the side. Add your mix ins, do the usual proofing and shaping, and soon enough you have yourself some freshly baked, whole grain bread!

IMG_1383

I tried the cherry loaf first, since that was the original recipe. I felt it was the proper thing to do, so I could truly compare it to my modifications.

IMG_1384

Surprisingly, the bread really wasn’t all that sweet. The cherries went well with the other flavours, but made the loaf harder to cut into nice even slices. It was a bit crumbly, but I would say that was due to the whole grain spelt flour. I also found the cheddar flavour to be very mild, even though I used a 2 year old aged white cheddar.

IMG_1385

I think it would be a great bread to toast up for breakfast, spread with a little butter or jam.

IMG_1382

 

Next up was the herbed version of the bread.

IMG_1377

I added approximately 1/3 cup chopped fresh chives and dill to the bread. Didn’t make a big impact in the looks department, but did lend a lot of flavour!

IMG_1380

What I really liked about this version is that the herbs seemed to enhance the flavour of the cheddar. If I’m going to add good cheese to my baked goods, I want to taste it in there!

IMG_1376

It was also much easier to slice, as there was less resistance like in the cherry bread. It would be great served alongside a hearty soup or stew.

IMG_1375

All in all, I would say it was a successful baking adventure, and now I have a new bread recipe to draw on the next time I have the urge to bake a loaf of yeast bread.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Baking, Bread, Dietetics, School, Vegetarian, Whole Grain

Subscribe

Stay updated via RSS, Twitter, and Facebook!

5 Comments on “Baking Bread”

  1. marie
    March 3, 2011 at 6:18 am #

    What kind of stand mixer do you have? My (newer) one can’t handle bread–I burned it out last weekend. 😦

  2. March 3, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    What a fun assignment! I particularly like the sound of the herbed bread.

  3. March 4, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    Delicious! Looking and Sounding. I really have to make some bread, I love to do it, but so rarely get time or have the energy. And I do not have a stand mixer unfortunately to do the work for me.

  4. March 6, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Both breads sound great! I usually avoid recipes that call for the use of a stand mixer b/c I don’t own one and I’m thinking it’s probably crucial the recipe….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grandpa’s Doukhobor Borscht Revisted « french fries to flax seeds - May 3, 2011

    […] Goodness Muffins from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan, and for the second assignment I chose to make Cheddar Walnut Spelt Bread from Bob’s Red Mill. This meant that for my 3rd assignment I had already used up my cookbook and […]

Leave a comment