Blogger Secret Ingredient – Week 27

Yes, the infamous Blogger Secret Ingredient Contest has made it’s way to from french fries to flax seeds!

Ruth at Plentiful Plants contacted me this weekend, seeing if I would be willing to host this week’s contest. After a quick thought about a) what I would choose, and b) what the prize would be, I said yes!

Now, I’m sure none of my regular readers will be surprised at my choice of ingredient. In fact, I’m sure you’ve already guessed it. I must say, I was super excited that it hadn’t been chosen yet!

Can you guess form this photo what the ingredient is?

food 2813

That’s right – this weeks secret ingredient is COCONUT!

So, what’s so great about this tasty nut? I’ve consulted the book The Encyclopedia Of Healing Foods for a few facts:

  • Unlike other nuts, the coconut is high in saturated fat. But this saturated fat is mostly made up of medium chained fatty acids, which the body converts to into compounds with antiviral & antibacterial properties.
  • Coconut oil can help protect against heart disease and promote weight loss
  • Coconuts are a relatively good source of iron, phosphorous, and zinc
  • And they taste spectacular!

You can check out more information on coconuts in this Wikipedia article.

40709058_Coconut So, what is your favourite way to use this food? Breakfast, lunch dinner? Savoury or sweet? Get those thinking caps on and let’s get some great recipes together that showcase one of my favourite foods. Please email me with your recipe (or email me with a link to the recipe) at frenchfriestoflaxseeds (at) gmail (dot) com. I will accept entries until 9:00 pm on Sunday, April 13th (yes, that’s Easter Sunday – if you are having dinner, make sure you don’t wait until the last minute!).

And what have I picked as the prize for the winning recipe? The winning entry will receive a batch of custom biscotti, made by me! That’s 24 pieces of crunchy cookie goodness, tailored to your own personal tastes (although, I think it should contain coconut 😉 ). You can check out a couple of my biscotti creations here and here. It’s even possible a little something extra will slip into the prize package too 😉

Alrighty – get your coconut thinking caps on, and make sure to spread the word on the contest! Let’s make it a good one 🙂

Tags:

Categories: Blogger Secret Ingredient

Subscribe

Stay updated via RSS, Twitter, and Facebook!

22 Comments on “Blogger Secret Ingredient – Week 27”

  1. April 6, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    Oh wow, awesome choice!!!! Coconuts!!!

  2. April 6, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    emailing you now!! 🙂

    • April 6, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

      When I read coconut I actually thought “oh man, VeggieGirl has some GOOD stuff that’s gonna beat us all!” hehe

  3. April 6, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    Love biscotti of course 😉

  4. April 6, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    Coconut is so delicious!!!

  5. April 6, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    HOORAY!!!! COCONUT!!!! I might bust out a recipe tonight!!!

  6. April 6, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    I haven’t done a BSI since before Christmas, but I think I need to get back into it with this ingredient choice!!! Great pick!!

  7. April 6, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    PS…check out my post tonight….there’s an award waiting for you! 😉

  8. April 6, 2009 at 4:34 pm #

    I love coconuts with all my heart. I recently wrote up a post all about the amazing health benefits of coconut oil- http://meghantelpnerblog.com/2009/03/22/rub-on-a-little-oil-coconut-oil/

    This Thursday, I’ll also be posting a ridiculously silly video of me cracking one of these babies open.

  9. April 6, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Wow – I’ll really have to think about this one! Good choice and great prize!

  10. April 6, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    Hi lady.

    I just emailed you! Gosh, i think I’ve found someone that loves coconut as much as I do!! Awesomes!

    Also, I linked over here from my blog.

  11. April 6, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    Coconut..what a good choice!!! I’m going to enter this I think. It’ll be my first BSI submission…we’ll see!!

  12. April 6, 2009 at 8:03 pm #

    Yum! I am going to have to get cooking!!!!!! I love coconut!

  13. April 6, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    Oooh, me likey 🙂 Congrats on getting to host this week’s BSI! I have a few coconut recipes on my blog – I’m going to see if they are up to par. Otherwise, I may have to get creative!

  14. April 6, 2009 at 9:54 pm #

    This does have so many options! I’m gonna need to put my thinking cap on!

  15. broccolihut
    April 6, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    OMG I love coconut! My fave way to eat it is my Samoas oatmeal (which is in Jenna’ Dessert Cookbook).

  16. April 7, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    ooh, great choice!

  17. April 7, 2009 at 10:30 am #

    I may try to enter this one! I love coconut!! And, I have some in my pantry!!

    Yeah!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Walk In This World » Blog Archive » POM Giveaway Reminder - April 6, 2009

    […] Zip over to Marianne’s blog if you’d like to enter a secret ingredient recipe contest.  This week’s secret […]

  2. Pull Up A Chair « from french fries to flax seeds - April 6, 2009

    […] think we’re all caught up. Phew! But in case you missed it – I’m hosting the BSI this week, and the ingredient is COCONUT! I’ve already gotten some recipes sent in, I think it’s going to […]

  3. Who Went Spinning This Morning? « Biggest Diabetic Loser - April 7, 2009

    […] BSI news, Marianne from French Fries to Flax Seed has picked COCONUT as the BSI ingredient this week!  So many different directions this can go in […]

  4. The Work Week Is Half Over « from french fries to flax seeds - April 7, 2009

    […] It’s time for me to get in a little relaxing time on the couch with the cat. While I do that, you should get cracking on your BSI – Coconut contest entry! Check it out here […]

Leave a comment